Be a fighter

Jiahao Zhu
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 31, 2017

There is only about half a month left for my first year study aboard, I will be back home in middle of June. I do have something to say about my experience. After reading the article, 5 Important Life Lessons I’ve learned From Living Abroad, from Andini Alya, I got some same feeling but also there are some difference for my own situation.

Andini says that she never realized before that her best friends can be from the other side of the world, and she felt bad about not knowing an old friend in her own country was sick before she passed away. I don’t know how Andini defines the words “best friends”, but I think I didn’t get any best friend yet. This might need to be connected with my situation that I’m keep losing friends, as well as girlfriends. Every time I got to a new place, I will lose contact with my old friends. For example, I used to have a really good friend in middle school, who is the one I had the longest connection after we went to different schools. We were so good, even our pin money were put together to buy things like Nintendo 3DSLL for both of us. We did everything together. But after graduated, things became different. We didn’t have much things to talk about, the only connection between was game. But in the second year of high school we started to play different games, he sticked with handheld game console, I was more interested in video games on PC. After that, our connection became less and less, and he started to not response my message and now we haven’t text each other for about a year. Since then, I never call my friends I make in school my best friends, and the truth is they do go away after you go to another place, even the person I called girlfriend who I was planning future with left me after she graduated, both of them.

So based on my own experience, which I left my home in high school time already, I deeply understand the loneliness Andini mentioned in her essay. The truth is, once you decide to study aboard, you’ve already picked the hard route. You won’t be able to come back home so frequently, you will be speaking a different language, you will experience in a different culture and living condition which you may not feel comfortable with. But there is also some bright side of it, the main one is that you can broaden your vision and do learn something while everyone else is still playing around and just try to deal with their finals (at least from where I heard back in China). To sum up, I think whenever you picked a lifestyle, it must has some pros and cons at the same time. The only thing you need to remember is to believe in yourself, stick with you idea and don’t be afraid, just like a fighter.

--

--