College Life

Jiahao Zhu
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 15, 2017

Before I came to UCSB, I think my college life will be colorful and exiting. Other than attending classes, I was planning to go to gym four times a week, join a new band in this new school, play higher level basketball games, play League of Legends with my new friends, and go on trips during weekends.

However the truth is a little off. It’s true that my days are busy, but it’s kind of too busy for me. So instead of exiting, I feel more like tired. Last two quarters I barely accomplished the goal I set for going to gym, but this quarter my schedule is a little messy. I can play variety of instruments, but I’m not so good at any of them, and also I don’t have time to practice, thus, I didn’t be a member of any band. Also, lifting weights took me so much time and energy, so the time I spend on playing basketball is even much less than the time I spend in high school. And the funny thing is that the reason why I try to make myself stronger is I want to be a better basketball player. Besides that, not like in my high school, in college, not all boys play League of Legends, and mostly no one will use this game as an ice-breaker. Combing both the reasons, I just found some game partners like two weeks ago. And all these things make me so busy already, during weekend, I just want to take a break, stay in my dorm and get some sleep; I don’t even have the thought of going out. Nevertheless, complaining is worthless, and I know there would be differences between the reality and my fantasy expectation. There is only a half of quarter left for my freshman year, and I think after nearly seven months, I’ve already have the idea of how my college life is like. Hope I can successfully finish this quarter and get ready to a better quarter after I get back from my first summer break of college.

--

--