Dream and Truth

Emily Wang
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 15, 2017

Before arriving to UCSB, I thought I will have different lifestyle, but in fact it did not change. I thought I will have a healthier daily schedule, that I will work out daily, eat healthy foods and sleep early, but it goes to the opposite side. I thought I will involve in various clubs and different social meetings, but, no, I only hang out with several friends and do not want to make new friends. All my expectations prior to arriving to UCSB had been disappeared as first quarter started.
I still remember the day I received the accept letter of UCSB. The pictures on the front cover are pretty, the ocean seems blue and the beach looks clean. At that time, I thought it would be a comfortable place to relax and have fun. In reality, I went to the beach on the first day of school at nightfall, the terrible beach made me depressed; however, the purple pink sky and the blue green ocean has comforted me. Now, one school year is almost gone, I always go to the stair near the beach when I felt tired on study because my dorm is near the ocean. I would like to hear the roar of the ocean and to stare at the horizon to feel the peace and tolerance of the ocean. Before I come to UCSB, I thought I can eat three times a day in the cafeteria for a long time, but I felt overwhelming and accepted no more after two days I had eaten in cafeteria. My roommate and I went to IV to look for foods, but several days later, we noticed that we are out of choices. Had spent eight months at UCSB, I feel more confident about college life.

--

--