gender roles

LI DA
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readMay 22, 2017

When we talk about gender roles, the most famous one in the whole world can be the role which is “lady first”. This role not only acts in China but also in America. For my personal perspective, the reason behind “lady first” can be various. For example, in the past hundreds years, females always act a role as a home housekeeper, therefore, females give people an impression that females have a weak character and be in frail health. But why people tend to say “lady first”? The reason is simple, many males want to be a gentleman, so that they can be more welcomed to females, and they can attract more females. I think the biggest reason to explain this gender role is male chauvinism. This gender role not only teach me how to be a gentleman but also lead some disadvantages to me. For example, when I want to express my thought first, there is always someone say “lady first”, so I can not express my ideas first. Truly, this gender role have some benefits, but still, I think it is unreasonable.

--

--