GENDER ROLES

xiaoling pang
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readMay 22, 2017

In the past few years in China, there was a phenomenon that the female must do the housekeeping because of poverty, and being the master of cooking became the advantage of marrying the other half from a rich family. The old days have passed, but some old tradition has also passed down. Women tend to have the ability to run households while men are outside earning money. In my family, my father always want me to prepare meals for the family, but I always are not willing to do so. He says that it is the basic ability for woman, and cooking is not only for myself but also for the families. None wants to marry a woman who cannot cook. I think it is good having the skill to cook because it colorful ones life, but it is unfair to let running households be the requirement for women. They have their freedom to choose what they do.

--

--