Gender Roles

Jiahao Zhu
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readMay 22, 2017

This is the first time I noticed that male and female are different essentially when one of my friend told me that she will not take further education and directly get married after graduated from college. This is different from any other person who decided to not got grads school and start with their career, she do not really have a plan for that. From that, I realized that even though the world is advocating gender equality, and even though there are some successful women, many people, both male and female, are thinking that the job for women is to get married and raise children.

I did not say that do not have a career plan is a totally bad thing. In some ways, the career plan gives us a lot of pressure and we might need to out up with something we do not like. And without that pressure, people can choose to learn what they truly like. As the friend I mentioned before, for now, she is major in an arts major, which must have nothing to do with her future career, but she love that. I myself believe that women can be able to be successful and have a colorful life, but that is the current situation in China, and I cannot do any thing with it. The only thing I can do is while I have my own kids, I will tell them what I think and hopefully thing will be different in their time.

--

--