Vanessa Song
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

Girls are not as Disadvantaged as I Thought

As a girl, I had dreamed thousands times to be a boy. (This doesn’t mean I’m a homosexual) The first time I started to have this weird thought was because someone told me that it really hurts when women give birth to babies. I can’t imagine that one day I should consider about pregnant because I am a female. Why only women can be pregnant? Why women are considered as weaker than man, but they need to bear that kind of pain?

When I grew up a little bit, I started to realize the human sexual activity. My mom always told me that: “You are a girl, so you need to be missish. If a boy wants to have the have sex with you, you must get away from him. Boys are so bad, they won’t care about the consequences, but you need to be careful since you are the one who have hymen and you are the one who will probably be pregnant.” I thought that was super unfair! I also want to be as free as a boy and have fun!

However, now I am glad to be a girl. Although I have to suffer a lot when I am bearing a child, I will love my child more and feel like I have more connection with my child. Besides, even though I should act as a girl, boys also have many restrictions and responsibilities. A lot of my male friends decide to go to the graduate school in order to get a better job in the career competition. But the girls around me just want to graduate from college because they are not as stressful as boys. Also, if I have a boyfriend, I probably will be the one who need be taken more care of. I can choose to be dependent or independent, at the same time boys can only be independent.

--

--