Learning a New Language

Emily Wang
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readJun 5, 2017

After watching the TED Talk “4 Reasons to Learn a New Language” by John McWhorter, I learned few benefits for learning foreign languages. McWhoter believes language can channel people’s thoughts. He thinks people must learn some degree of a language to become a part of a culture. Also, he says that learning a new language is fun and people can learn languages easily due to the widespread of internet sources.

While I was watching this video, I agree with him that language can connect people’s thoughts and imbibe a culture. It is necessary to mastering a language to understand others’ thoughts. If one can barely communicate with others, one will not be able to understand their depth meaning nor the culture. Although I agree that learning a new language is fun, I think it is also hard. Last quarter, I chose to learn Italian just for fun and show off if I learn well. It is fun to learn the basic sentences such as “Come stai?”, “Come ti chiami?”, etc. When he talks about the gender of table, I immediately remember the time that I learn Italian words which had been assigned gender as well. It is hard to learn grammar because each language has their own rules. As one learns more and more languages, it will be harder and more confusing.

Learning foreign languages will benefit one because knowing another language especially minor language is an extraordinary skill. People should learn a new language for their benefits.

--

--