Learning Another Language

jiayuan guo
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readJun 4, 2017

In the TED talk “4 reasons to learn a new language”, John McWhorter believes that people should learn a new language, because language is the core to learn the nearly extinct culture and language is health. In addition, language is fun and is easy to learn. However, in my opinion, I only partly agree with him.

Admittedly, language is the core of a culture. Without mastering the language, people can not approach the core of a culture, because a language can help people to communicate with the native of the culture, which is the most efficient and effective way to understand a culture. For example, without learning English and learning in America, I cannot totally understand the culture of America.

With the development of technology, learning language is much easier and we have multiply methods to learn a foreign language. When I learnt language in China, my teacher always use various ways to help us to learn language, such as watching foreign movies.

However, I feel that learning language is not easy. In the TED talk, he thought that the different order and words is interesting, but he do not find that what he feels interesting is actually the most difficult parts of learning a foreign language. Words and different orders are obstacles and block people to learn a language. For example, when learning English, I was always struggled in the different orders and flooding words. I made a lot of mistakes in the order of a sentence and created chinglish sentence. Therefore, I am not agree that language is fun.

Learning language is a lap of trip. Not everything can go off smoothly in every trip, but after the difficulties, the trip will give a pleasure experience back to you.

--

--