Living in America

xiaoling pang
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 30, 2017

After reading the post from an Indonesian girl who has studied aboard for so many years, I feel a sense of identity. I especially like parts “don’t take it for granted” and “loneliness is the worst punishment”.

She talked about her one best friend has passed away but she even didn’t know she was sick. I think we should always cherish what we have processed, never perceive that those things around you will never disappear. Family, friendship either romantic relationship, are the things needed to be nurtured with sincere heart. The feeling in every relationship is mutual. If you just take everything as granted doing nothing and wait to be loved, that’s not become possible. You will more or less loose something. Parents give us financial supports, and then we should do our best on our study and life. We need to open to friends share happiness and sadness, while others open themselves up.

The greatest hardship we need to encounter is loneness. When we first come to a strange place, and when we experience failure, the first thing to think about is home; those familiar friends and family members are the best spiritual pillars. I think I am an independent person, and I think I have the ability to live alone, live separately with my family, but the truth is that I also cried when I miss my little brother singing next to me, my mother’s dishes and the chat with my father. The best thing is to shift attention to the things around me. Make more friends, participate various activities and frequently chat with people. Those things will definitely relive loneness.

For those students study aboard, you need to stay true to the initial determination, focus on what you want to do at fist, to learn more academically, or to make more international friends. There are so many allure that are easily enable us loose direction. Try to get out of your comfort zone and have the strength to do what you want to do. UCSB have beautiful beach and adore classmates and professors to be expected, and it is the place to rebuild one person.

--

--