Lost and found

xiaoling pang
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 15, 2017

I am studying in a college that is glorified for its gorgeous campus and academic atmosphere. Actually, I am lucky enough to study in UCSB, because my language proficiency is not that impressive, it ranks highest in the colleges that I applied for. However, in the meantime, I chose this school, blindly. I had no idea what I can do in the future and did not know if this school really suits me. I want to find myself and locate my own position. And I think UCSB gives me a proper direction. There are advisors and professors being asked for major issues and excellent schoolmates and psychologists dealing with personal problems. College is indeed a good place to explore the unknown and find own.

On the other hand, I had a high expectation for the environment of the campus. It is not that beautiful and the buildings are not as described on the websites. However, I am satisfied with the sunrise and the sunset. The sunshine here is can be considered precious. Also, the air quality is much better than that in China.

There are so many things can be explored and can be taken advantage of. I wanted to make American friends here. There are clubs and organizations for me to attend, but I am always afraid to take a step to join. I wish I can be more extroverted. Also, I want to have high GPA before I attend school, and it becomes possible. There is an assistance service called ClAS which can provides free academic help. Actually, it is indeed helpful in some subjects like math and economics.

Prior to I come to UCSB, I wish not to have so much writing because I am not good at it and really don’t like it at all, but the reality is that there are endless essay deadlines and readings. We all know that there are so many abilities are essential for individuals like having a good writing skill. And the college is a platform to find yourself while exposing disadvantages to make improvements. I hope UCSB won’t let me down in next years.

--

--