Masculine

jiayuan guo
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readMay 22, 2017

Since I was born, my parents have told me that a male must be masculine and have more responsibility. Therefore, when facing difficulties, I have to be rational and brave, or pretend to be. Because of the common social attitude toward males, males always have no way to express their own emotion and have to tolerate pain silently. Though I want to talk some interesting or upset things with my parents, it will be considered as sissified and verbose, so I can do nothing but holding back what I want to say and not share my joy or sadness with my parents. Without the outlet, there are more mental illness and violence on males than on females. For example, my dad always face a lot of difficulties in his business and may be angry with his staffs, but when he come back to home, he never show his negative emotion to me and my mom, because he has to be masculine in front of us.

Of course, being masculine do not only make misery and have negative influence on males, but also it let males to have more bravery to confront to the difficulties. when facing difficulties, my mom can do nothing but crying, but my dad always is clam and find the most rational solution to the problems.

Every coin has two sides. Every gender roles will have both positive and negative influence on people. we cannot throw the negative influence away, and what we can do is to decrease the negative influence and magnify the positive sides of it.

--

--