Men, Go Ahead to Protect the Country, the World, the Universe.

Ivy Wang
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 20, 2017

“Honestly, I don’t care.” As my dad told me to watch the speech given by Emma Watson about calling for more gender equality, I told him that I didn’t care. As long as I am able to do the things I am doing today, then I don’t care about how gender equality is going change. Living in the 21st century, I have the privilege to enjoy the rights that the women before didn’t have, so what else can I ask for more? Nothing. I am satisfied. For me, the gender roles play in modern society are perfect in the way that men are expected to be the one who protect the countries, families, women, and everything…

In most of the countries, unlike that of men, women do not have the obligations to join the army and fight for the country. This fact makes me feel happy. I do not have to spend my time in a place that the only thing people can do is to obey and to take an action. Also, since doing training and physical exercise is not my cup of tea, I really appreciate those who perceive women as a powerless creature because their opinions had contributed to the formation of the military system.

Being a female not only will benefit from avoiding military system but will also enjoy many other advantages in daily life. For example, when a man and a woman are in a room, one crazy person walks in with a knife, and he locks the door. At that moment, woman will probably hide behind the man while the man is going to man up and fight with the guy. No one will think woman is doing the wrong thing and all of them will not praise the man for his action because that is his responsibility. Now, let us think in an opposite scenario. As that crazy person walks in, the man immediately hides behind the woman, and the woman starts protecting the crying guy by fighting with that person. Next day, the headline of the news will probably be something like “A Heroic Woman Saving A Shitty, Useless Guy.” People will then condemn the man by not fulfilling his responsibility of protecting people. Although it seems unfair for men from all the examples I provided, men do have many advantages in gender roles too. Therefore, both sexes should be happy with what they got right now.

--

--