My Expectation Prior to Arriving to UCSB

jiayuan guo
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 15, 2017

Before I arrived to UCSB, I had not thought that I would meet such a lot of difficulties. Though I did a lot of preparation prior to arriving to UCSB, such as learning language and buying daily supplies, I found that my preparation was really not valuable, when facing difficulties. Firstly, it was really difficult for me to talk with native American, so having a meal was also a difficulties to me. In addition, it really hard for me to find a friend, because I am afraid to talk with unfamiliar people. It is obvious that if you cannot talk with a stranger, you cannot make a friend and build a friendship with them. Therefore, I was so lonely when I came to UCSB. I felt that I lived in darkness in that period, though it has already passed about one years, I do not want to remember the days now. In that period, I did not talk with the others, stayed in my room everyday and watched video everyday. I really did not adapt the life in UCSB at first.

However, when courses begins formally, I started to go out of my room and make new friends on courses. Gradually, I can communicate with native American and started to adapt the new life in UCSB. Nowadays, I have already adapt the life in UCSB and love such a busy life, because I know what I should do today and what I will do tomorrow, unlike the dark day when I came to UCSB at first. when retrospecting the dark period, I know that noting will block you forever, and it is important to you that you must be brave to face them and deal with them.

--

--