On My Way to Leave

Cassie Guo
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 15, 2017

Before I arrive to UCSB last September, I have never visited here before. Though I had done some research and watched others’ experiences before I came here, but I realized later that things were different and more complicated that what I thought.

Prior to arriving here, I googled pictures of UCSB and I thought life here would be very beautiful because here arounds sea and mountains, however, as a girl who grows up in a big modern city, I started to find out that to me, living here seems to be much more boring. Besides, I have not owned a car, so going out to anywhere is inconvenient. Last quarter, I got a little depression, probably because I did not used to college life, and it was my first time to stay in a place that is thousands miles away from home. During that time, I felt like that I could not stay at UCSB any more and this feeling was very painful. Then I decided to transfer. My ultimate goal is to transfer to UCLA. The reason why I want to go to LA is that I feel LA has a higher diversity than Santa Barbara. This higher diversity is not only attributed to higher diversity of food (There are a lot of various Chinese food resaurants), but also people, which makes me feel more like at home. Though, things have gotten better ans better, I still believe that UCSB is not suitable to me. Thus, my current plan is to finish the admission as soon as possible so that I can transfer at the end of this quarter.

Although I am not truly happy here, but I do not regret that I made the decision to come here because these are all my own experiences and somehow they are precious to me.

--

--