Studying Abroad

LI DA
Linguistics 3C Blog
1 min readMay 30, 2017

After reading Andini Alya’s essay, I realize I have the same question as her. She gives us 5 important roles to overcome problems when people are studying abroad.

The most helpful advice from her essay is be grateful, for this, I agree with her. Being grateful can bring people to go forward. once I have troubles in UCSB, the first idea to me is seek other people’s help, but for now, I think if I can be grateful, I can solve problems by myself, what a good thing, isn’t it?

For the future students who will come to UCSB, I want to let them know, be independent and make friends as much as possible because in this case, you can expand your horizon. In China, our students do not need to do everything like housekeeping and cooking by ourselves, but here, it is better if you can cook and do cleaning stuff because those skills can help you live better and let people like you more. If you want to want to be graduate students, then you should work hard when you are in freshmen year, so many people are complete with you. Also, language is another problem, but do not afraid to speak English, no one will laugh at you because they know you are not a native speaker, they will give more error-tolerant space and our professors are glad to listen your ideas. Only practicing will help you to improve English.

--

--