J Zhou
Linguistics 3C Blog
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

Take More Responsibility

“Come on, dude! Be a man!” As a man, I am supposed to be brave and dare to handle emergent situations. In Chinese tradition, man should hold the family, which means a gender role of a man is to take more responsibility.

In China, sometimes we say that “A successful man is supported by an incredible woman.” Although it is not necessary, most of times a man is playing a carry role and a woman is playing a support role in a family. Earning money, doing labor work, taking care of wife, and making important decisions, these stuffs are what I am going to deal with in the short future. Ok, that’s it, but where is the “more” responsibility? The point is that in this world, for some physical reasons, men are stronger so that we are able to handle some situations which are nearly impossible for women. Therefore, it is polite and kind for men to do more, just like holding the door for women. Also, as men are physically and mentally stronger, we are born to be relied on. When there is an emergency and the whole family are anxious, a father should be the first one to calm down and sooth every member. Whenever the family is in difficulties, the man should stand out and let the family feel safe and beloved.

In my opinion, I don’t regard it as a burden. Doing the favor for girls in my power is not a big deal and it can help me receive more respect. At the same time, if I am able to do more, I should take more responsibility because my effort or little sacrifice can make others’ lives a lot better. As a man, I am willing to protect my family and wish them to be safe and happy. To fulfill this expectation, I do like to take more responsibility.

--

--