Achieve Community

ruiqi tao
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readFeb 26, 2018

Reading the article, “ Achieve community”, written by Suresh Canagarajah, I learn author’s experience of trip in Toronto. Group of people from Tamil tend to prevent their lower social class and status, so that they try to tell local people that they are Canadians and would like to join this new community.

In my opinions, It is extremely difficult to understand their behaviors, because they should not be shamed as Canadians. Even though they are regarded as foreigners, most of people still are willing to be friendly to treat them. Also, they might have more interest on knowing their divergent cultural. Take me as an example. When I came to the university on the first day, everybody greeted me with a big smile even though I am a Chinese. And when I rested in lounge in my free time, lots of students from other countries tended to chat with me. They asked where I came from and felt curious about my country,China. They interested in my langue and culture. I started to teach them speaking Chinese, like some daily simple words. Some of them felt hard to voice, others wanted to learn more vocabularies. Also, their sound production sounded truly funny and we laughed at it. And I introduced my local breakfast which was different from America. I shared numbers of photos of Chinese food and they said they must experience it in the future.

To sum up, as a foreigner, we need to follow our heart, be ourselves. We should be confident and pride about our countries. Also respecting our own countries and its culture are our duty.

--

--