Advantages as an International Student

Xuan Song
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
1 min readFeb 5, 2018

As an international student, while having my own country’s culture, I can understand other cultures by getting to know the students from all over the world. Also, I can usually taste hometown cuisine made by other international students. The most important thing is, due to the difference in teaching progress between China and the United States, many science classes now introduce about what I learned when I was in high school, so I had a good foundation when I was in these classes.

The main topic of Physics 1 I’m taking is stress analysis. As a comparatively basic physical knowledge, I came into study with it in the eighth grade. Therefore, when a professor explains stress analysis in class, I can quickly understand the teaching content and finish my homework in the shortest time. There is a rule in the section of this class. Although the section time on the schedule is three hours, students who complete quiz and section content first can leave early. Because of my physical foundation, I can often complete a section’s task about 20 minutes after the beginning of the section and leave early, which saves me a lot of time.

Although the content of learning is relatively simple for me, I still have to continue to spend my time on consolidating current knowledge and anticipating future knowledge. I will also try my best to help classmates understand the teaching content when they need help.

--

--