After Studying Abroad

yuming fei
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
3 min readFeb 3, 2018

Most students in China high school would study hard for the final exam at the end of their high school, which is the only entrance to get into universities. Universities in China only consider grades as a valid admission. Students who pass the grade baseline can be admitted to the university, otherwise they will be rejected however their personal experience colorful is. In my high school, I and one of my friend were the only two person who went to America for study. I don’t want an exam to determine the path of my life. I might not get the highest grade in the school, but I am versatile and I don’t want be rejected by good university. I think all the things that I’ve done for preparing applying American universities is worthwhile. I learned and gained really a lot after studying abroad.

First thing is interpersonal network. It’s really amazing because studying in American provides me with a lot of chances knowing foreign guys. I am the only international student in my dorm and people here are mixed, such as American white people, Africa-American and Asian-American. And I mingled with them all day, knowing a lot about cultural difference. In China, it is impossible that people will make friends with foreigners. My friends in China said they were envious that I can make friends from different countries. They also wanted to experience cultural difference because it is a little tedious that always playing all Chinese people. Mingling with people from different countries also broaden my horizons about race. It was weird for me to see a lot of different skin color people in the first place because in china is not mixed like America, an immigrant country. But getting along with them let me know that racism is really a serious problem, which I did not think so in the past. I became more acceptable to cultural difference instead of judging it. I became more acceptable to things instead of excluding them.

Second thing is that I think universities in American provide students with a lot of opportunities. Universities in China are likely to give these opportunities to the top students. In other words, normal students don’t have many chances to make progress. But American universities offer a lot of chances and everyone can apply to the programs. And typically they have connection with top universities in the world. I applied to UCEAP program so that I have chances to study in top universities in the world. Besides, I also applied to research program which is related to my major. I have numerous opportunities to make progress in study as studying abroad. Moreover, teachers in China always say that we have the best teaching method. Studying abroad gives me access to learning the American teaching method, such as group assignment, thinking critically and field research. In China, students are always doing exercise problems. I think American teaching method provides various ways to intrigue students to study.

Third thing is that I gradually get to know the importance of money and understand how much my parents had devoted to me. The tuition of studying abroad is really expensive and I am really grateful that my parents pay the money for me. Also, because dollars have exchange rate with CNY, I became saving because things in America are expensive converted to RMB.

In a nutshell, the advantages of studying abroad outweights its disadvantages. And I really cherish this opportunity.

--

--