Being an International Students

muyang he
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
1 min readFeb 5, 2018

To be honest, I am very proud of being an international student in UCSB. Coming from another country, it means that I can have a unique experience. For example, I can experience the American life styles, class styles, and even the American history and culture. If I still live in China, I would never have a chance to broad my horizon so deeply. I am very glad that I have learnt so many new interesting things.

Specifically, I believe that the most important benefit I have acquired in the United States is experiencing the new culture. In the US, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas are three of the most important holidays. In fact, before entering the US, I even did not know what Thanksgiving truly means.

More vitally, another advantage is that I am able to share my knowledge of China to others. Just like the fact that I am curious about America, the American people are curious about China as well. Telling them something about Chinese traditional culture really makes me proud. It is my honor to grow up in a so wonderful nation, and it is also my honor to carry Chinese culture to all places around the world.

The communication and collision of Chinese and Western Culture is the most essential parts of the cultural development. In order to build a great community, the exchange of culture should be one of the most prior action. It’s my pleasure to have a chance to promote this historical action.

--

--