Jiarong Song
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readFeb 6, 2018

--

Benefits of An International Student

As an international student comes from China, like others, I have enthusiasm to study abroad, cherishing aspirations and dreams. We are all a lucky generation, our parents provide us a comfortable life and are able to send us to this land, the land of dream and opportunity. No doubt, there are so many benefits as an international student studying in here.

When I start to look at this world, I start from a keyhole, and studying abroad is way to expand it to see a bigger world. People who has the same purpose with me, we study together in here, we become friends. Being an international student, I am have a worldwide friendship, American, Korean, Saudi Arabian, etc. Their traditions, language, food are knowledges, something I could not learn in my homeland, I am learning here. When I communicate with them, I communicate with the world, and this is a special advantage for an international student.

Both America and China are countries having deep history and colourful culture. I brought the education to here, and I learned something new. We shared our culture and other cultures could get to know our culture better. My American friends take me to watch super bowl, tell me about “Ellen Show”; I teach them calligraphy, make them chinese food, and let them try some chinese music. An international student is not the same with a foreigner, I can really feel or blend into this culture and many other culture, becoming more close to my friend from all around the world.

I really appreciate that I have the chance to study here, being an international student in UC Santa Barbara. I am really glad that this great school is open to everyone and embraces all kinds of students in the world.

--

--