Benefits of Being an International Student

Tianyi Zhang
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readFeb 4, 2018

The main benefits of studying abroad includes experiencing personal growth, expanding the horizon, improving language skills, making friends from all over the world and so on…

Studying in the US provides me a valuable chance to completely immerse myself in an international experience, which is considered as the best way of finding out a totally different culture. Being a part in the diverse and vibrant university and mixing people from all over the world expose myself to a variety of different cultures as well as some fresh perspectives that teach me to think in a totally new way. For example, it is can be really interesting to hear stories from their own countries that can not be found through the media, discuss some current affairs and hear their own special ideas. All of these mentioned above can be only sparked up in an internatioanl environemnt.

Since the fall quarter, I’ve made some best Mexican friends. Befriending with them indeed adds some spice to my campus life, because they are so funny that they always tell funny jokes and play some harmless jokes on others.

Everytime I meet Arline(the girl on the left, the second row), she will say “I miss you,Tina” “Tina is my favorite, not Yuki(her roomate)”.

We both love foods, so we sometimes talk about Mexican food and Chinese food. Through interacting with them, I have a further glimpse of the authentic Mexican food. The essence of their traditional food is the fusion. Their main resource of food is corn that includes Tortilla chip, Nachos, Tortilla soup, Quesadilla, Enchilada, chimichanga. And other special meals like Plaetanos Machos, Churros, Rompope, Horchata, Horchata. Before that, my impression on the Mexican food is only about the tacos. But now, I know the delicacy in Mexican, even though there are still many specialties waiting for me to discover. You can see that one of the great things about studying abroad and making friends from other countries is that you’ll have loads of opportunities to discover tasty new cuisines.

In contrast, if I choose to stay in my own counrty, the chance for me to get contact with the people from other countries will be slight, because people surrounded me are all the same. If I study overseas, there will be other students from overseas. What I gain in staying with these students is an added cultural dimension to my life.

--

--