Ruonan Li
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
1 min readFeb 6, 2018

--

Benefits of Being An International Student

Being a international student is a pretty difficult thing. However, it has its upside, and it is important for me to recognize it so that I can take advantage of these benefits.

To start with, being an international student allows me to experience a foreign country. After college, people may not have much time to travel around the world, but as an international student, I can spend four years in another country. I can experience the culture here, eat foods here, and so on. I believe without doubt, this period of time with broaden my horizon.

What is more, as a international student, I have to use more English other than my first language. I have to use English to buy grocery, to ask study questions,to chat with my classmates. Basically, I need to use English to do anything, but this circumstance also give me more chance to practice my second language so that I can be more fluent with it.

Last but not the least, being a international student help me to be more independent. In high school, if I have any problem, like fixing my bicycle, I have a lot of people to seek help from like my parents or my friends. Now as an international student, I have to deal with these problem on my own. As a result, I am more independent now.

--

--