Difficulties As an International

Yihan Lyu
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 28, 2018

When it comes to the tag “international students,” some may think that they are very rich having so much money to study aboard, while others may say they are very brave to leave so far from their home.It’s all true that we, all international students, are a group of lucky people who own the opportunity to study in a different country because lots of people cannot get this chance due to the financial problem or other reasons.

However, studying aboard also brings us a variety of difficulties. Every international student may feel home sick whenever how long he/she has been in America. Also, culture differences cannot be ignored, such as the Tips culture and the Sun Tans culture. I cannot understand why nobody holds a sun umbrella under the sunshine of California! Don’t they worry about getting a sunbum? What’s more, the food in America is delicious, but the kind is limited. There are only a few types of American food like the salad, hamburger, sandwich, and pizza. At first, those food seems attractive to me, but after several weeks I have no appetite to eat them anymore. I miss the food in my country and the special dishes made by my mother. In addition, international students have to process every little thing by themselves since they leave their parents so far, large to rent apartment, small to buy necessities. It takes lots of time and consumes a large amount of our energy so that we may feel stressful about study. Not mentioned that the reading native student finished within thirty minutes costs me almost double time.

The biggest difficult for me is the home sick problem. I miss my mom so much that so many night I cried out suddenly when I was studying. I could not remember why I cried, maybe because the reading was too hard, the homework was too much, or the concept was too confusing. But those were not the most core reason why I miss her so badly. I think it is the worry about her causes me want to go home and company with her. I cannot image the scene that my mother go back home after work and find nobody opens the door,prepare dinner, and stays at home waiting for her. She has to endure the long, dark night all by herself due to the loss of my dad a year ago and the leave of me for college. Although she always told me she felt fine about this and I know she is a mentally strong and very optimistic woman, I just cannot stop thinking about this scene and longing for going back home. I have no idea how to solve this problem, but I will try to get used to it and feel less sorrowful next time. Just like what my mom said I should accept this fact and embrace it gradually.

Even though those difficulties are hard for international students to handle, I believe that we will finally find some ways to face them and become better mans when we graduate from UCSB!

--

--