Difficulties I Face as a International Student

Xiao Zhou
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

I think the greatest difficult I face is that I am not used to the way instructors assign their homework.

In my high school, my teachers would inform us about what our homework were going to be in the class and it was always due on the next day or a certain week day. However, in university, some instructors just put the homework in the syllabus so I missed some tasks which affect the grades. Also, some instructors just email students about the tasks and I always get a lot of emails so I miss these email. Since I always check my email on my phone, even if I see some emails by chance, I think I will remember what the homework is and I will do it later(, but I don’t, like now I just remember that I didn’t finish this article before deadline)

Also I am not used have classes without knowing anybody. In my high school, we change our classrooms when we have different class, but the classmates are the same. We also have certain class in our grade when we self study together so do some activities. In university, I have few classmates I know so when I have some questions, I have no one to ask about and no one remind me about my homework like before.

The contents taught in university is very difficult and I need to learn them in our second language. In the process of translation in my head, there may be some misinterpretation which greatly affect the understanding. Although I passed the language test to get into university, I know that my reading speed, writing and speaking skills are below the level of local students when the instructors will not offer international students options.

--

--