Languages Diversity Makes Our World Better

Angie Jiang
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readFeb 11, 2018

As for me, linguistic diversity is an important thing in our life. Because of languages, we can talk with others, share our opinions about something, make friends with others free and convenient. Language is not just a tool. It is more likely a line to connect people and a magic key to open the door of our heart. The diversity of languages provides us an opportunity to widen our horizons, and to learn more things from other cultures. It is language that makes our life more colorful and amazing.

In my opinion, the purpose of language is to give us a chance to know more about different cultures. I cannot image a world with only one language. As for me, my mother language is Mandarin. However, I can speak English and Changshanese, too. All of you know English, but not much people know what Changshanese is. Changshanese is also called Hunan dialect, is commonly used in most areas of Hunan Province — a Province in the southern of China. I think Changshanese derives from Mandarin, but it will be more exaggerate on its pronunciation. Learning a different language is a very interesting thing. Different languages can produce different stories, poetries, songs, and riddles. If one languages disappear, those related things will also disappear. Thus, we should protect every unique language in order to develop our linguistic diversity and culture diversity. One of the reason that I become an international student and have learned English from my primary school is to know more cultures from different countries.

Languages and cultures are interaction. Languages can make cultures more diversity, and cultures can bring languages new things. Like me, there are many local songs in Changshanese and I am happy to share them with my friends from different provinces of China. Even if they may cannot understand what I am talk about, I think it is a good way to introduce and spread our cultures. Also, I will learn a little local dialect from locals when I travel to different cities. I think it is very important because it can help me to understand the local culture and the history of that city. Because of this, I agree that languages and cultures are interaction and both can develop at the same time. I am happy live in a wonderful world with many different languages and cultures.

--

--