My Goals for New Quarter

HONGNING WANG
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 22, 2018

Making a goal at the beginning of a quarter is the basis of success because it may push you to work hard and achieve your goal. I think that I have achieved my goals for last quarter. For winter quarter which is the first quarter for the new year, I will make goals as well.

To start with, the first goal is that I want to get 4.0 GPA. Last quarter I did not work hard because there were too many things that distract me, which causes I cannot fully concentrate on my study. I have 21 units for last quarter, which is very hard for a first year student and a international student to get a high score on all courses, so for this quarter, I only choose 17 units to avoid that situation happens again. The another reason that I did not get a high score is that I think that getting an A is very easy. When I studied in high school, every course is much easier that college courses, and I got A for every courses, so that I thought courses should be not difficult for the first quarter, and I was wrong. Therefore, I will work very hard in winter quarter by finding studying peers and spend a long time on content that professors talk about in class.

Moreover, I want to get a new credit card. Last quarter, I already get nearly all the IDs that I can get in the US such as Driver’s License, Social Security Number, Bank Checking Account, and I have successfully applied for the Discover Card and got credit card on the Christmas. However Discover is not available for every thing, so I want to get a New credit card with Visa. The card I really want to get is Chase Freedom Unlimited, because this card is designed well in every aspect and has very high credit line. To achieve this goal, I need to pay the balance for my credit card and other services such as rent and utility bill on time to get credit score. I know that getting a Chase credit card is very difficult for a college student, and I will work for it.

All in all, these are my goals for the new quarter, and I hope that I can achieve both of them, and I hope all of people can achiever their goals as well.

--

--