My Goals for the Winter Quarter

Tianyi Zhang
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 20, 2018

In this new winter quarter, I want to challenge myself and broaden my horizon further by trying something new.

The colorful exotic life in Santa Barbara is worth exploring. I hope that I can catch a valuable chance to experience the true skydiving. As we know, the fair weather, downtown beaches and the azure pacific ocean provide absolutely ideal conditions for the aquatic sports like skydiving, surfing, sailing, etc to thrive. Therefore, missing these sports especially the skydiving here will be a pity. I think the feeling of skydiving is like flying. Even though I have never tried this fun and scenic activity before, through many videos posted on the internet, I can feel the intense adrenaline as well as the exciting free fall. Besides, only by skydiving can I get the unique perfect view of the whole city and appreciate the breathtaking natural scenery which will let me have a clear mind and add some spice on campus life. And I plan to go to the fight school in Santa Barbara to attend this super cool, unforgettable, and incomparable activity in my leisure time.

As far as the academic perforemance is concerned, of course I wish I can achieve good grades in all classes that I take this quarter. Especially, I bloodly want to get an A in the Econ2 class. I know that standing out from other talented students is not easy because this class is so competitive that only 8 percent of students can be crowned with a A score at the end of the quarter. Besides, now I am put into disadvantage by those students who have already known the overall principles related with macroeconomic by taking the AP exam. It is my first time to have a glimpse of the basic knowledge that can be applied to the economy of a whole nation and even the world. Everything is new to me and I must study hard or I’ll fall behind. In order to correctly and fully understand these abstract priciples, I follow professor’s instructions by subscribing the Wall Street Journal, analysizing the valuable data collected in Bereau of Economics Analysis, listening current economic prodcast, doing my homework with full effort and keeping a close eye on all activities associated with the economy. I believe that if I study this course wholehearted, the grade A is not far away from me.

Hope that I will challenge myself successfully both on skydiving and studying.

--

--