My goals for this quarter

wenyu xi
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 21, 2018

I’ve spent a great time in UCSB last quarter. The winter quarter arrives now, and I have new goals for this quarter.

I hope I can earn good grades in every class this quarter. This is a very common goal for everyone, so I know it’s not easy to achieve. In order to accomplish this goal, I plan to pay attention to every class and not to be late for them. Also, taking notes is important. I will review my notes after class on time, and finish homework carefully every time. When I meet some trouble during the learning process, I will ask teachers for help instead of ignoring those problems. And participation during the class is crucial. Since last quarter I did not fully engage in every section I had, I will try my best to participate in class this quarter.

Moreover, I wish I can live a healthier lifestyle than previous quarter. I often stayed up late last quarter, which caused that I fell asleep during the class. So in this quarter, I will try my best to sleep earlier and get up earlier, and keep myself sober during class. To make my life healthier, I also need to exercise everyday. Unfortunately, I gained almost 10 pounds last quarter, so I decide to go swimming every week to lose weight and stay in shape. I should not eat too much junk food in the future, but eat more vegetables.

I had some bad habits. It’s hard for me to keep my room clean, to be honest. Every time I cleaned up my space, it would be messed up in a couple of days. However, this quarter, I will try to keep my room tidy after the cleaning, and put things back to their original place after using them. And also, I need to strengthen the importance of time in that sometimes I get late to the class and I struggling to get out of bed. I will set more alarms to remind myself the time, and make my life more in order.

What’s more, I intend to improve my photographing skill. I’ve got a new camera last month, and I’m totally new in this field. To fully utilize my camera and UCSB’s beautiful scenes, I need to practice photographing skill and try to hand in some “masterpieces” to myself this quarter. And the most important thing is that I will contact my family more frequently. Last quarter, I hardly contact with them, but I know my family always worries about me. Therefore, this time I will keep in touch with them to consolidate our relationship.

I hope I can achieve all of my goals for this quarter.

--

--