Jiarong Song
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 21, 2018

--

My Goals for Winter Quarter

Because of the impact of Tomas fire, my first quarter in UCSB ended hastily. I learned a lot by studying and living abroad for the first time. Although at first, I felt quite bothered by managing everything by my own, I overcame all the difficulties and solved problems in the end. However, I still have defects that need to be improved in this quarter.

First, I want to guarantee my GPA. I am not satisfied with my last year’s grade and I believe I could do better. I need to make a plan for the study and utilize my time efficiently. Last year, I wasted much time on experiencing various campus life and socializing with my friends. I must do what I need to do first and then do what I like since I am not good at rejecting others before. By making a time plan, I can use my time based on my schedule. In order to improve my grade, I also need to focus. There are a lot of attractions in our life that make us hard to focus. Although I spend enough time studying, my mind is not concentrated on what I am doing, causing me to waste more time and didn’t understand the knowledge. To keep away from interference, I have to put away my phone, close the chatting screen, stay in a quiet environment. Hopefully, these ways can help me to study better.

Besides study, I need to enrich my campus life by joining in more interested clubs. Last quarter I have a regret that I miss the chance to get into a dancing club. I began dancing since 3 years old and I am the member of high school dancing team. It is actually part of my life. However, because of a meeting in CSSA, I missed the chance to learn and audition. By looking at social media what they have done, I am really interested in their performance. So if they provide a chance to recruit people, I must cherish the chance to do what I like.

Basically, these are my regrets from last year and goals for this quarter. I hope I can change myself by doing what I am planed.

--

--