My Goals in 2018 Winter Quarter

Ying Zeng
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 22, 2018

Winter quarter has begun and it is one week shorter than usual, so it is very necessary to set my goals and plan for the quarter.

Looking back to my last quarter, I found myself was successful in learning new knowledge in the topic of how should people work together in different work condition and different personalities when I read serval relative research papers and discuss with classmates in the duration of preparing for my paper. I want to continue exploring my knowledge in different fields in this quarter and I will do the same things as last quarter, so that I am not only finishing my paper but also learning new things from the process.

However, there are also something that I need to improve. When I read my final paper from last quarter, I saw the words I used and the ways I described are very limited. Sometimes I got tired of my repetitive words and sentences. I want to be a more flexible writer and I know I need to read more words and sentences. In addition to finish the class-assigned reading materials, I plan to read Medium website daily and read 2 extra books that I am interested in. I will pay attention to their sentences and learned the word from articles and books that I don’t understand. I will also take advantage of CLAS writing workshop, too. Moreover, I am not satisfied with my English speaking skill. I will participating in class discussions and join some club activities in my spear time so that I have more chances to practice.

--

--