My Goals of 2018 Winter Quarter

Angie Jiang
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 22, 2018

The winter quarter is coming. This is the second quarter I study in the UCSB. In the fall quarter, I became an undergraduate student and adapted to the life in a foreign country. I think I can be better in this quarter.

In this quarter, I want to improve my writing skills on grammar, organization and contents. Since I am an international student, I did not often write English essays before taking the Linguistics class. Thus, taking English writing class is an important way for us to improve our English writing skills. I have already finished the Linguistics 3B class in the fall quarter. In that class, I have learned a lot of writing skills which are very important for me. I think the grammar is my weak point so I really want to improve my English grammar when writing. Also, how to write my essay in a good organization and have good contents are goals I want to achieve in the Linguistic 3C class.

Second, I want to get good grades in every courses in this quarter. I felt a little tired in the first week of this quarter because I chose three of my majors courses in this winter quarter. I think I should become more concentrate on each class and listen carefully in order to finish my homework. I should review and prepare in time. I should also exercise everyday in order to have a healthy lifestyle and help me study better.

Third, I want to practice more about my speaking English. Because English is not my mother language, I always feel nervous and shy when I talk to other international students and Americans. Practice makes perfect. Thus, I think I should become braver and try to talk with others in English. I think I have already done a little about this in the last two weeks. I talked a lot with my neighbors and some of my professors.

Last but not least, I wish to meet a lot of new friends in this quarter and have a good relationship with them. Friends can help us study better and make us feel happy when we are sad. They are part of my life. Thus, enlarging my interpersonal connection is also a goal I want to achieve in this winter quarter.

University is not just a place for us to study, it is also a place for us to build friendship, relationship and leadership. We should try a lot of things in order to make our life more colorful. These are my goals in the winter quarter. I hope I can achieve all of them.

--

--