NEW Aim for this quarter.

Yucheng Huang
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 22, 2018

In this brand new Winter 2018 quarter, I collect some mistakes that I made last quarter and I try to fix them in this quarter. The first thing is about my grades. I didn’t pay full attention to my study so that I didn’t get a well GPA for my Fall 2017 quarter. I need to work harder in my winter 2018 or I will not have the right to study in my major. I made a plan for my study which are to get on time of my classes, to make note carefully during the class, to finish my homework on time and double check my answer and to find some relevant materials to read for each week. My major is econ which means I need to put lot more attention on it because there are too many students want to get into this major.

Besides that, other things I want to do is to lose my weight. As an International student from China, I do have some difficulties to eat my favorite food in Santa Barbara, but I always eat some food with high calories because they are really delicious and I never resist hamburgers and french fries and chips. As a result, I raised more than 10 kilograms last quarter. That’s horrible! I’ve already start to work out at the recreation center every night, and I also ask my friends to work out together so we can supervise each other to build a better body shape. However, except studying, the first thing for me to do in this quarter is to lose my weight about 5 to 10 kilograms. I also search on our recreation center’s website and I see some classes like tennis, basketball, volley ball and so on. I am a enthusiasm on tennis, so I may try to attend our school’s tennis club or just to have the tennis classes in order to do more exercise.

One last thing is about my English skills. After studying Ling 3B last quarter with my instructor, I felt that my writing skill improves a lot, but my disadvantage is my speaking. I realized that I seldom speak at the class, then I have no other chances to speak English. So I need to talk more during my Ling 3C class in this quarter and try to dig out other chances to speak English. Maybe I want to make more friends who speak English but not just Chinese.

These are my goals in this winter 2018 quarter, and I hope I can insist to the things I want and see a good result of myself. Good luck to me.

--

--