New Quarter with New Goal

Xuan Song
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
2 min readJan 22, 2018

With the coming of new quarter, my academic tasks deepen their difficulty. As a student in electrical engineering major, I took a ENGR 3 in last quarter to complete my major courses. The main purpose of this class is using a software called Matlab to solve mathematical problems and start to superficialy comprehend the programming. Unfortunately, when I took the CS 16 which is on the next level of my major course last week, I find out that the C++ software which used by CS 16 is completely different from Matlab. The programming languages two softwares use barely have a common point, which means that the skills I learned in last quarter are not in use here. To conquer this problem, I decide to spend more tim to learn this new programming language by searching for the tutorial on websites such as Youtube, and attempting to write programs like games to practice my skill. Moreover, whenever I face the problem which cannot be worked out by myself, I will go to CLAS to consult TAs. I’m really looking forward to reach a high grade in CS 16.

In last quarter, I had just come to US for a short time, and not fitted to this whole new environment, like I hardly talk to folks who were not speaking Mandarin. I determine to change this situation by gradually step out from chinese social circle, and start to contact with native people. Actually I have already started to achieve this. I used to wear my headphones and have no conversation with drivers when I was taking a uber, but now I talk yo them about news, sports and so much more topics in the whole journeys. It’s a good opportunity to improve my language and understand the culture of the locals. The next step I will try to get familiar with my classmates and integrate to them. Meanwhile, I need to keep the relationships with my chinese friends, which is also an important thing to me.

Finally, in Linguistics 3B of last quarter, I learned how to use information to add content for my essay in normative format. Now I wish to improve my writing skill in a better expressive ability. I believe a huge amount of reading is helpful for this goal. Finding a suitable learning environment will not be the only purpose I go to campus library, I will also borrow articles and novels from library to accumulate my reading. By doing so, I’m sure I will grow a deeper understanding of English Writing.

--

--