Yiheng Ke
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
3 min readJan 27, 2018

--

Stones in Life I’m Facing

As the starting point of a brand new stage of life period, the college life indeed gives me abundant pain and troubles. Problems and difficulties are always there in life for me. They’re like stones in my way to get further. All the time I’m trying to make them to be stepping stones rather than obstacles. Since I keep finding keys of those problems, thoughts are never absent. They help a lot for me to form a solution, and then I can continue my life journey. Therefore to make things logical and clear, I decide to write down my thoughts, hoping this could help.

Life is not easy for international students, and it’s known to us all. I’m cool with nostalgic thoughts, though they’re impossible to be avoided. Academic work is not my main issue, but stress are. Yet the harshest trouble is related to how some people treat us.

I was born sensitive, caring about how people treat me. Correspondingly, I force myself to be considerable enough not to hurt others. But not all guys are that friendly to me. Or even worse, some give me a feeling of hostility. Language barrier is what I need to overcome. I can handle with daily dialogues, but maybe not deeper conversations yet. Things need to be done step by step. However, during discussions, some native students seem unwilling to have a partner like me. That makes meeting new friends difficult. In spite of Chinese students can be my friends, that’s not enough.

Those who speak English as the mother tongue have already form groups before I send my greetings. What’s more, some people using bad words to me and my friends even we did nothing wrong. I know party and social life are really important to many people around me. Nonetheless, I should have rights to make choices. I’m not really a social guy, and get little joy from partying. Staying alone or with just few friends exchanging thoughts interest me are ways I derive my pleasure from. I respect those who go to party often, but they don’t show the same attitude towards me. My friends and I are labeled as “anti-social”, “nerds” and “nuts”. We get good grades by paying our effort on academic works, we deserve that. How can this become a short point so they can put their critics on us? Just because we are different from them? Then working hard, reading books, thinking a lot, and creating joy in life all turn into shames?

I may be too cynical and judgmental, but isn’t is confusing? Stereotypes are used to define a stranger, don’t you think that will make lead to a miss of interesting souls? Possibly not all men need what I seek for spiritually, yet that cannot be a reason strong enough to dis someone.

Still lots of people are nice. I’m trying to make steady bond with them, sharing differences to each other. Till now I haven’t come up with a solution how to change others’ incorrect bad thoughts, but I guess I will continue to figure it out. Currently I just avoid to have a direct conflict with people don’t like me, making fewer problems. Focus more on good things, just ignore unfriendly ones. Hope this “stone” will build a stronger me with decent thoughts.

--

--