Approaching

Xinwei Dong
Linguistics 3C Winter 2018
3 min readJan 23, 2018

The fall quarter ends, and the winter quarter begins; the year 2017 ends, and the new year 2018 begins. Fortunately, I got to pick all the classes I want for winter quarter, and I got to switch to linguistic 3C with my favorite professor, yet now I am doing my least favorite thing — writing medium with a presented question, especially the question I answered from last quarter. However, reviewing from my last quarter on medium, I found setting up a goal is helpful. Recalling from my last goal, although I did not achieve completely, I do find my reading and writing skills improved. Therefore, I would like to keep my old goal (become to a better “me”) and add some more parts in addition to that.

Other than read more, write more, and get fit, I would be willing to learn how to cook well in order to eat healthy. People always say that if you want to lose weight, there are two things you need to concern about — what you eat, and how you do work outs. Last quarter I failed on working out very often due to the irregular schedule (compared to my schedules in high school) and thus messed up my routine. What’s more, since I worked out, I did not pay much attention on what I eat and therefore end up with gaining weight. Now the new year comes and I am going to be 20 this year, I don’t want to be like this any more. I want my 20s to be funny and skinny. Hence, cooking well is going to be my new goal so that I can control what I eat in order to eat healthy. Moreover, eating healthy not necessarily only help people to lose weight but also have more benefits to human body, such as keeping more nutrition of food, as I learned the topic “organic food” from last quarter, and understand more on eating healthy. Cooking well would make my family happy too, and I want to have a better cooking skill so that I can make food for them. Before I came to United States, I don’t know how to cook because my grandma cooks so well that there is no need for anyone else in the family to learn how to cook. However, I learned how to cook after I was in U.S. owing to my “Chinese stomach.” I had to cook myself because there is nowhere for me to get Chinese food, and I did not like American food during that time. After my grandma knew that I learned how to cook, even though they are only some simple Chinese dishes that probably every Chinese know how to make, she was impressed, but this is not enough for me. I want her to be more impressed, and I want her to get rest that I would do the cooking jobs for her. Thus, I need to practice more so as to cook well to serve my family.

There is an old saying in Chinese: new year, new atmosphere, and now the new year comes, I would like to be in a better atmosphere that I am approaching to a better ME.

--

--