Introduction to Emotional Intelligence

Linh Vu
Linh Vu
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2017

My name is Linh Vu, I am an undergraduate student of the School of Management at University at Buffalo. In this post, I will introduce you to Emotional Intelligence, a soft skill that I believe is very crucial in any working field but especially important within the business world.

Emotional Intelligence or EI is the ability to identify and manage your own emotions and the emotions of others. I find this skill particularly interesting since it is the key to success. Many people have average IQs but outperform those with higher IQs because EI level plays a very important role. Those who have the ability to control their emotions and emotions others can surpass those with higher IQ. This is a skill that encompasses many characteristics such as self-awareness, empathy, emotion, etc. Therefore, EI will take time to learn and improve upon. Yet when you practice it long enough, it will be rewarding not only in your career but also personal life. To me, working is a meaningful process of self-development and discovery. EI certainly fits in my philosophy of work because knowing how to manage emotions will bring you to success and learning this skill is the process of self-development.

In the course of the next two weeks, I would like to know further about the different characteristics of EI, why EI can be more important than other skills, how to apply this skill in real life situations and the benefits that it will bring. Personally, I will practice this skill by observing and be aware of mine and others’ emotions in different situations. To reduce and handle negative emotions, I will try to reflect on what I or others have expressed and name them in order to figure out the root and solutions for the negative feelings. Overall, I believe that a high level of EI will bring you a successful career and a happy life.

--

--