What I’ve Done to Improve Emotional Intelligence

Linh Vu
Linh Vu
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2017

Over the course of the last weeks, I have introduced you to Emotional Intelligence, showed you the characteristics of people with high EQ level, we also learned why EI is the most important skill comparing to others, the benefits of EI and also how to practice this skill. On my part, I have also practiced EI in various ways. Here is the list of what I have done to improve my EQ level:

  • Being an international student and living away from home, sometimes finding a time to communicate with family can be difficult. Because of such big different time zone, I’m often asleep while my parents are awake and the same goes for them. Many times, I found myself getting irritated because my parents call me at the most inconvenient times; yet for them, it is when they are free to talk. To avoid this situation, I have communicate better with my family to plan ahead. I have also try and put myself in their positions, given that they are my parents and they care for me. After thinking more about their actions, I was able to understand why and reacted differently.
  • Balancing school work and social life in college can sometimes be a difficult task. For me, school is my priority but I also don’t want to miss out the fun. When I enjoy too much fun, I found myself with piles of homework and doing things at the last minute is certainly not effective and stressful. Therefore, I have tried to regulate myself and do work earlier. This way, I can be more prepared for unexpected assignments and also spare time to hang out with friends.
  • Again with school work, it is often that students can find themselves being stressed. Whenever I have to study for a long period of time, I always try to take little breaks to freshen up my mind. I will either go out to take a walk or just simply go talk to a friend to keep my mind clear. After that, going back to work is easier and more effective.

--

--