Source: Nintendo

Review: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword HD (Switch)

Jay Rooney
Link, The Universe, and Everything
31 min readNov 5, 2021

--

(NOTE: This article was originally published in Level Up Media on August 8, 2021)

Finally, the most divisive Zelda title has a chance to redeem itself.

When Nintendo announced The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword HD earlier this year, I was initially skeptical. This is a weird thing for me to say, because as my writing history clearly shows, I go absolutely cuckoo over anything and everything Zelda-related. But I found the announcement… underwhelming, at best. Disappointing, even.

No, not because it wasn’t Breath of the Wild 2 (we got a new trailer for that game, too), or a port of Wind Waker HD, which is my current favorite (pre-Breath of the Wild, obviously) Zelda title.

It was because, much like Skyward Sword is The Legend of Zelda’s Origin Story™️, I also had an origin story with this game, back in the Wii era. And it wasn’t a pleasant one.

Spoiler alert: I didn’t make it very far and likely didn’t even finish the tutorial section.

It was all because of the damned motion controls. At first, hearing the words “Zelda” and “Wii” in the same sentence had me going bonkers, much in the same way that “lightsabers” and “VR” are exciting today. But as cool as the idea of controlling…

--

--