A day in the life of a Customer Success Manager

Rena Tayierjiang
Linkfluence stories
5 min readNov 23, 2020

As you know, we have CSM team members spread across different offices: London, Paris, Düsseldorf, Shanghai, Singapore, San Francisco and New York. Today, let’s discover Faye’s story as a Customer Success Manager at Linkfluence Shanghai.

What does your typical morning look like?

Most of the time I will be struggling with the decision of whether to get up early and go for a work out or not, guess which one I choose most of the time :)

But I am still a morning person, I like to enjoy the sound of early birds outside of my window chirping while I am preparing my day. (If you ever have a hangout meeting with me, you probably will ask me if i am living in a forest.)

After the morning routine, I will check my emails and slack messages to sort my priorities for the tasks of the day, I like to put the things to do on my google calendar, so that, first of all, I won’t forget what I need to do, secondly, my co-workers would have a clearer understanding of my work capacity of the day. It really helps me a lot more than many other To-Do list apps!

What does your work involve?

As a Customer Success manager, the biggest parts will be designing & data structuring the project and on-boarding & empowering the clients. We transfer clients’ abstract needs to visible dashboards, meaningful numbers and charts.

Through trainings and empowerment sessions, we help users know how to best utilize the platform to check the impact of their brands, the influence of their ambassadors or KOLs, the insights among the sea of discussions towards their products, etc.

Also to keep the projects data more relevant and meaningful to clients’ requirements, we need to design the whole structure and maintain the data quality throughout the time.

What do you like about your job?

I like to know what is happening in different industries and brands, and here in Radarly I can easily get the information!

I like to be the master of the Radarly projects, control the projects.

I like to be the one that helps clients to solve their issues and problems.

I like how I can communicate with my international colleagues smoothly and get to learn their perspectives.

I like how we share new findings, new solutions with each other.

I like how people value your work and respect your opinions.

The most important one for me is, there are these lovely ones that are willing to help, support and care about you all the time, how could this not make you love your job?

What are some challenges you face on the job and how do you deal with them?

Managing people’s expectations for one. It is utterly important but also a little bit difficult sometimes to say NO. People always want their wishes all to come true magically but in reality we just have to reject some and make it balance. As CSM, we need to take it seriously of what can be done within the scope and what cannot. I find when it is hard convincing people, just list your reasons, and, some data always helps. So if you are ever in this kind of dilemma, run a little test and come back with your data proof :) It helped me thousands of times.

When the COVID started, for a very long time, I had trouble working from home, cause I could not separate myself from my computer anymore. But my bosses and my teammates helped me with their kind advice to set up a healthier routine to better organize my priorities and time.

I think there are always many other challenges and difficulties during the work, we of course will come up with many good solutions ourselves, but it always becomes better when you share your challenges and solutions with other people. Why? There is a Chinese saying:当局者迷,旁观者清。A second eye will always help you understand the whole situation more and come with more practical solutions. Also, it would be a very good reference for others when they are in the same situation. But do not come to others for help without any deep thinking by yourself first!

What attracted you to Linkfluence?

The diversity, equality and inclusion in this international organization.

Can you tell us about the culture or values at Linkfluence?

Linkfluence is a place where people value your ideas, if you have one, just share it, and there always will be people giving you feedback on it or supporting you to make it come true.

What would you say about Linkfluencers?

For me, Linkfluencers are very supportive, caring and genuine. They always love to help you not only on tasks, questions or doubts in work, they also love to give you suggestions, to point out directions when you feel kind of lost on other tracks. You can make true friends here.

Any hobbies outside work?

I like to go to see live music performances, I used to have so many posts of rock bands gigs on my Instagram, but sadly due to the COVID situation, I did not get the chance to enjoy those great bands that are supposed to come to China. Although, on the other hand, I saved a lot of money because of that, there is always a silver lining I would say.

Also I am a huge foodie. One of the most enjoyable moments for me is to go out with my friends and search for hidden treasures of amazing food. As I mentioned before, my Instagram used to be full of gigs, now it is full of food. Maybe I should try to be a food blogger and appear to be a top influencer on Radarly!

And I play drums (shush).

Oh that is not me.

What would you say to someone considering a role in the Customer Success team at Linkfluence?

Don’t consider it, do it.

You will be joining the coolest/best team with the coolest/best leader and the coolest/best bunch of teammates here from all over the world, you will be the master of the projects, you will have the chance to try the cool tools, implement your awesome ideas, and have meaningful conversations with your teammates not only work-wise, but also life-wise.It is truly amazing.

Just do it! (Will Nike come after me if I say this?)

Consider it, not. Do! — Master Yoda

--

--