Coping mechanisms for the linkybrain

Andy Burden
LinkyBrains
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2018

I think it’s important to learn to live with our linky brains before expecting anyone else to.

Here are some of my coping mechanisms…

Photo by Elijah Macleod on Unsplash

Choose who you spend time with wisely.

My soul partner is a rock solid pragmatic realist, I need that in my life. I love spending time with her, have done since we met at school.

“Several people fist bumping over a busy workspace” by rawpixel.com on Unsplash

Choose who you work with wisely.

We carry some of the traits of every meaningful person we work with. We spend too much time at work, and life is too short, to work with dicks.

“A person wearing denim jeans charging their dead iPhone Cellphone” by rawpixel.com on Unsplash

Work out how you recharge your batteries.

Do you need to recharge your batteries on your own, or with other people? Let the important people in your life know so that they can support you.

“Outstretched hand holds an iPhone with a compass on a hike” by Robert Penaloza on Unsplash

Find your north star.

I recommend getting hold of the book ‘Success, Your Way (Do what you’re meant to do)’ by G Richard Shell, a drop out who found his way. It will help you answer, What, for me, is success? How will I achieve it? Turns out I’m hard wired to help people. That’s important to know.

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Set up your own system to cope with being distracted.

For example, I no longer kick myself about messing up cups of tea because I set a timer for 3 minutes. Inevitably when I’ve become distracted in conversation, or playing guitar, or trying to fix something or other, or dreaming up a new way to fix the world…the beeper goes off and I look around, and there it is…that cup of tea waiting to be finished off.

--

--