Linux: It’s all about choice

Stephen Cross
Linux For Everyone
Published in
5 min readMar 8, 2021

--

I switched to Linux three years ago. After being a Mac fanboy for fifteen years, this was a significant change in my life. Most of the hardware and software I used daily changed. For sure, the software transition was slightly painful but worth the upside. The most significant benefit of switching from Mac to Linux is choice.

Photo by Victoriano Izquierdo on Unsplash

Software Choice

While software availability is sometimes a blocker for Mac users to switch to Linux, it’s more of a benefit. Except for a few Adobe products, I found strong Linux alternatives for the Mac applications I relied upon. Since switching, I’ve been surprised by the amount of quality software available.

Moving away from the Apple software ecosystem is freeing. Do your phone, computer, and tablet need to be one symbiotic system? Previously I thought that was a significant benefit of using Apple, but it’s limiting and smothering. The opposite of choice. After my family switched from Apple’s Messages to Telegram for texting, we had more phone options. At the time, a recent college graduate living independently, my daughter needed more room in her budget for technology. She switched to a budget-friendly Windows laptop and now uses Android phones. Telegram, a simple software choice, made her transition easier and allowed our family to stay in touch across platforms.

--

--

Stephen Cross
Linux For Everyone

A web developer for 25+ year. Drupal developer, podcaster and Linux enthusiast.