This New Linux OS Would Look Perfect On Your iPad

Jason Evangelho
Linux For Everyone
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2021

--

All aboard the hype train, but pack some cautious optimism.

Here’s a potentially unpopular opinion: despite loving Linux, I’m not willing to use a Linux-powered mobile operating system unless it looks and feels fantastic. It’s why I’m not enamored with Ubuntu Touch. It’s why I’m less than enthusiastic about ARM-based variants of popular distros like Manjaro and KDE Neon, even while I’m rooting for all of them.

Call me silly, call me selfish, but they’re just not flashy enough.

More importantly, there’s not a mobile Linux OS in existence that screams “tablet-first design.”

Enter JingOS, a new Linux distribution based on Ubuntu 20.04 and KDE Plasma Mobile (to eventually be replaced by JDE or “Jing Desktop Environment”) that isn’t interested in treating a touch interface as an afterthought.

It’s built from the ground up for tablets, and it shows. But because it’s built on the foundations of Ubuntu, it will run full-fat desktop versions of your favorite Linux software.

--

--

Jason Evangelho
Linux For Everyone

Technology addict, Linux enthusiast, musician, and writer. Currently reviving my imagination from a coma. Also an American in Croatia.