My Favorite Work Music

Lindsey Flagg
4 min readSep 12, 2023

--

Pexels // Pixabay

All of my readers know by now that I love music. It’s why I started this blog. That being said, it may come as a surprise that I actually love listening to music when I write.

Listening to music can increase productivity and creativity, so it is worth trying if you think you could use a new boost at work, especially if you need to write or complete a similar creative task.

I’m not just talking about instrumental music, although it does have its place on some of my work playlists and may be a better choice for those who find music with lyrics to be distracting while working.

I’d like to share some of my favorite instrumental and vocal tracks for writing with you that you can use as inspiration for your own writing playlist.

Disclaimer: Music isn’t a solution for everyone and every work environment, and that it may be detrimental for some writing projects or work styles. I believe music is worth experimenting with if you aren’t someone who gets distracted by background noise. I personally find silence distracting, so it really is a personal choice. I may share some live tracks below that differ from the recorded versions. If a video link does not appear here, you should be able to click through to YouTube to preview the song. I hope you enjoy my recommendations!

Instrumental Work Music

1. “Tear in My Heart,” Midnite String Quartet

“Tear in My Heart” Audio by Midnite String Quartet.

This is a popular track by Twenty One Pilots that was covered in instrumental form by Midnite String Quartet, one of my go-to’s for instrumentals that I’ve been listening to while working at home for quite some time. This is a choice that is both calming and a bit energetic for when you need some quieter motivation to get your creative juices flowing.

2. “Shut up and Dance,” Mbandi

“Shut Up and Dance” WALK THE MOON Cover Video by Mbandi.

Mbandi music is a unique combination of brief vocals and creative instrumentals with a warm world music sound that I can’t resist. This cover of of the WALK THE MOON track is one of my favorite Mbandi tracks. It is very fun and puts a smile on my face during even the most challenging of writing assignments.

3. “Market & Riviera,” Mada II

“Market & Riviera” Audio by Mada II.

This is a very cool and very chill track that has the barest of vocals, allowing listeners to relax and focus while enjoying a different sound from the typical instrumental offerings out there. I add this to any of my playlists when I want to be inspired by a different sound.

4. “Hail the Underdog,” UTAH

“Hail The Underdog” Official Audio by UTAH.

This song is so cheery and fun that it is hard for me not to love it. It also has some changes throughout that make it a very interesting piece to increase my creativity and motivation.

5. “Early in the Morning,” MIKA

“Early In The Morning” Audio by MIKA.

This lovely soundtrack song is haunting yet beautiful, and does feel somewhat like a sunrise or early morning experience. It makes me feel calm yet focused no matter what I’m working on.

Songs with Vocals

1. “Caroline,” Chez Moi

“Caroline” OFficial Visualizer by Chez Moi.

This track offers an interesting fusion of French and English and an experimental jazzy sound that has held my interest since its release in 2019. The lyrics are also pretty interesting and not too distracting for even the tougher projects that come your way.

2. “Hurts,” MIKA

Official Audio for “Hurts” by MIKA.

I think this is an important piece for any communicator to seriously consider. It reminds me of the impact of my words every day and on every project I complete. I recommend the non-remix version for writing projects, but both of MIKA’s releases are worth checking out.

3. “Reset,” Vox Rea

“Reset” Live Video by Vox Rea

This is a very calm track that is another with a bluesy, jazzy sound that brings me back to the music of the past. I always love the vocals on Vox Rea tracks, but this song in particular is great for work projects with its soothing yet uplifting vibes.

4. “Rescue,” Rayvon Owen

“Rescue” Official Audio by Rayvon Owen.

This is a romantic yet serious pop song that is powerful yet understated enough to help me stay motivated on a typical work day. Rayvon Owen’s emotional vocals add depth that helps me stay inspired to be creative.

5. “Feels Like Fire — Orchestra Version,” MIKA

“Feels Like Fire” Official Audio by MIKA

I love both versions of “Feels Like Fire,” but the soothing vibes and beautiful instrumentals of the orchestra version make it a favorite choice for my work playlists.

Originally published at https://flaggmusicblog.com on September 12, 2023. It has been edited for this platform.

--

--