5 Books I’m Reading (or Rereading) in 2021

Lion’s Story
Lion’s Story
Published in
5 min readDec 23, 2020

--

by Charles Barrett Adams

Anyone who knows me will tell you: Books are my friends.

As an educator and non-profit leader, I am constantly looking for ways to challenge my thinking, materials to add to my own self-growth curriculum, and for timely relevant information that I can offer to my village of peers, colleagues and friends taking their own journeys towards racial literacy.

And let’s face it: there is no better excuse to add a few more books to my shelves than a new year.

That said, here are five books I’ll study or revisit in early 2021 as I seek to become a more empathetic, organized and courageous leader.

Book Cover: Dangerous Love by Chad Ford
  1. Dangerous Love: Transforming Fear and Conflict at Home, at Work and in the World by Chad Ford. Ford, whose name may be recognized by NBA fans, is a conflict mediator who just so happens to have spent some time as a sportswriter and analyst for ESPN. In his mediation work, Ford has worked internationally with governments, NGOs and businesses.

Why I’m looking forward to reading it: Dangerous Love is about working to address conflict in our relationships, examining why…

--

--

Lion’s Story
Lion’s Story

Tell your story. Heal the village. Lion’s Story helps individuals and organizations navigate racially charged situations using research-based strategies.