Life Lessons

Am I Not a Visionary?

I interpreted this as visionaries having a positive, ambitious attitude, while realists were cautious and less daring

Gina Espinosa
Lipstick and Powder

--

A young woman standing in a beautiful field of yellow flowers on a sunny day
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Growing up in difficult circumstances, I developed a perspective that being poor was the result of not having a futuristic view. This belief drove me to create a structured plan for my future, always striving for something more. But as life unfolded, I started to question — why?

Almost ten years ago, during a conversation with a late mayor election candidate. He asked me, Are you a visionary or a realist?”.

Puzzled, I replied, “What’s a visionary and a realist?”

“A visionary aims for big goals. If a businessman is a visionary, he would invest big because he aims to collect an annual revenue of 50 million. Even if he only hits 50% of his goal, he would still earn 25 million, which is substantial. On the other hand, a realist businessman prefers small profits over big investments without guaranteed returns. Realists play it safe, avoiding losses and consequences,” he explained.

At that moment, I interpreted this as visionaries having a positive, ambitious attitude, while realists were cautious and less daring.

I proudly told him that I was a visionary. I had a great dream of being in the medical field, which led me to pursue Science and Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) during Senior High School. I participated in medical missions and endured long hours at our municipal health unit. My thought was that even if I couldn’t achieve 100% of my vision, I could at least complete a pre-med course and be closer to my dream.

But when reality hit, I was devastated. I thought I was a step closer to starting my journey, but I wasn’t. I was silently crying on my way home from the Capitol. I was supposed to apply for a provincial scholarship for medicine, but my dad intervened after discovering that the scholarship was only a reimbursement and did not cover pre-med.

“Even if you work part-time, we still can’t cover your expenses. Medicine is too long and difficult; you might fail. We can’t afford to reimburse the Capitol. I don’t want us to be buried in more debt,” my dad explained.

I stubbornly took every chance I could find to pursue my vision until I ran out of it. Then, I took a pause and looked back; I’ve tried my best but why? I couldn’t secure full scholarships for pre-med, I failed the DOST exam, my parents wouldn’t allow me to study far from home, and tuition was so expensive. Was God against my vision?

I was on the verge of giving up college and considered talking to my dad’s friend about getting a domestic job abroad. I thought that if I started working, I might be able to help my sister finish her program, support my brother with his studies, and help my parents buy a house. However, I suddenly stumbled upon my NCAE results, where I scored highest in Mathematics, with English coming in second and Science third.

Should I consider enrolling in an engineering course?

Without much thought, I took an entrance exam at Saint Joseph College for civil engineering. There’s no harm in trying, right?

I passed!

I secured a full scholarship. Along with a reserved spot to work at the library.

I was too baffled to comprehend the situation. Why did everything go so smoothly when I hadn’t put much thought into it?

A week later, I received an unexpected call from a state university offering free tuition and a monthly allowance for their engineering program. Was this God’s answer? But this didn’t align with my vision anymore.

How could I be a visionary if I couldn’t live up to my visions?

Or am I not a visionary? Maybe I’m a realist now — giving up on my visions to contribute to medicine.

I had a great dream of being in the medical field.

It took me five long years to realize that I had misunderstood the definition of a visionary.

Being a visionary is about having ambitious goals and the drive to pursue them, regardless of the field you’re in.

When I graduated with a degree in computer engineering, I was already halfway to my vision. My journey in engineering could still lead me to fulfilling my passion in the medical field innovatively and impactfully. This was the vision God had been trying to show me all along. I was too blind to see the signs until it became undeniable.

Sometimes, a narrow focus on a single vision can blind you to other possibilities. Broaden your horizons to see the bigger picture.

I smiled and told myself; God’s plan will always be better than mine. Sometimes, I just have to let go.

Lipstick & Powder:Write 4 UsFollow

--

--