Old Skool’s (Ellensburg, WA)

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2023
A look inside Old Skool’s

En route to Moses Lake for the weekend, decided to take a slight detour and do some crate digging at a record store in Ellensburg, Washington.

This is the type of record store I adore digging through. From my picture above, you can see that vinyl is organized by genre…and there are stacks of vinyl and cardboard boxes filled with records to dig through. It’s the kind of record store I could spend hours in.

From The Crates

Old Skool’s selection includes all the main genres, with some incredible finds if you’re willing to dig.

First, I picked Fire on the Mountain from the Charlie Daniels Band. While this may not have been their highest-selling album, I’d rank it in their top three overall and a staple of must-listen southern rock albums.

Second, I picked up Victory Lap from Nipsey Hussle, his only studio album. This one starts off strong from track one and keeps banging across the entire record. This was the first time I can recall stumbling across this album throughout my record store travels. So yes…I had to grab it.

Location Details

Name: Old Skool’s
Address: 308 N Main St, Ellensburg, WA 98926

--

--

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl

🚀MD of Innovation @ Blueprint - 🧬Open-Source Evangelist - 📘Author of Experiment or Expire - 🎸Bass player for Iris Drive - Co-host of Puget Sounds Podcast