RSD Black Friday 2023

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2023

Over the last few years, heading out early for Record Store Day on Black Friday has become a personal tradition.

In previous years, I’ve been known to hit up Silver Platters in the morning, where their checklist selection process is dialed in really well. Then, later in the afternoon, I head over to Easy Street Records.

This year, I cut straight over to Easy Street in the morning. Easy Street did not disappoint.

From The Crates

You can tell I got excited while at Easy Street and picked up a few albums. However, despite how eclectic my selections may be when viewed together…I did go into this RSD Black Friday with a pick list. I’ll highlight my top three.

Soul Food from Goodie Mob: Some may remember the debut song, Cell Therapy, but the title track, Soul Food, made me a Goodie Mob fan when this album first came out.

Lost Demos from Linkin Park: I’m a big fan of hearing works in progress and alternative versions of songs. Although the content had been released previously with a 20th anniversary box set, this would be the first time it was released on vinyl. I love the track notes from guitarist Brad Delson on this one, too.

Shotgun Willie from Willie Nelson: I gained an appreciation for Willie from my grandma when I was a child. This would be the first album that Willie released after leaving Nashville and establishing himself in Austin. This album is considered the start of the outlaw country sub-genre.

Location Details

Name: Easy Street Records
Website: https://easystreetonline.com/
Address: 4559 California Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98116

--

--

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl

🚀MD of Innovation @ Blueprint - 🧬Open-Source Evangelist - 📘Author of Experiment or Expire - 🎸Bass player for Iris Drive - Co-host of Puget Sounds Podcast