Upper Left Records (Everett, WA)

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2023

While at the Salty Sea Days block party in Everett, WA, I stumbled on Upper Left Records, a micro pop-up record shop based in Everett. Pop-up retail shops are growing in popularity, but this was the first official pop-up record shop I’ve checked out. I had the chance to chat with one of the co-founders, Brooks Smothers, about everything from metal bands in India to Mongolian folk metal. This was a cool experience.

From The Crates

Within a minute of digging, I came across Chulahoma, a collection of Junior Kimbrough covers by the Black Keys. Moving over to another crate…I found Sturgill Simpson’s seventh studio album, Dood & Juanita. I’m a big bluegrass music fan…and this album has a place in my heart because it was written and recorded in less than a week.

Location Details

Name: Upper Left Records
Website: https://www.amoeba.com/

--

--

Gary Nakanelua
liquidvinyl

🚀MD of Innovation @ Blueprint - 🧬Open-Source Evangelist - 📘Author of Experiment or Expire - 🎸Bass player for Iris Drive - Co-host of Puget Sounds Podcast